Octane booster & Hondata reflash questions

steveD

sorry guys, but I'm new to the DC5 (10 days) and I need some clarification on a couple of issues which I know are covered elsewhere but I urgently need some straight answers:

1) will simply putting octane booster (STP brand) in a tank of Optimax kill my cat?

2) ...and if not, will adding it smooth out the rough running the engine experiences just before vtec (around 5-5.2K) which I have been told by my apparently knowledgeable Honda main dealer is down to the engines inability to run on anything less than 100 octane and (according to him) was one of the reasons why the car has never officially made it into the UK.

3) The Hondata 'reflash'- what is it? I presume it's a remapping of the existing ecu?, assuming it works and will cure the vibration, how much is it and where can I buy it? oh, and is it detectable by my Honda dealer (from whom I have just purchased an expensive Hondacare warranty).

To be honest I am a bit pissed off that I am being forced to 'tune' the car just to get it to run as well as my previous (ironically more powerful) S2000 and older DC2 as I am quite happy with the DC5's level of performance and do not like some of the downsides of modifying (rubbish fuel economy, loss of warranty, shit resale etc.,).

Thanks for your help, and please stop me before I do something silly (like pour the booster in my tank!)

Steve

MJ Type-R

Advanced member
steveD said:
sorry guys, but I'm new to the DC5 (10 days) and I need some clarification on a couple of issues which I know are covered elsewhere but I urgently need some straight answers:

1) will simply putting octane booster (STP brand) in a tank of Optimax kill my cat?