Trackday tyre management

Crazylegs

Advanced Member
Hi all,

Can anyone advise of the best way to manage one's tyres during a trackday?

I've never done one before and I've not long spunked £300 on some RE070's all round and ideally if I can get away without having to purchase at least some new tyres for the fronts that would be great.

Many thanks

Reggie91

Advanced Member
You might be alright depending on the thread left if you‘re worried about ruining them.

My advise is keep checking the tyre pressures each time you bring the car back to the pits. You‘ll find you mind have to left some air out when they get hot.

Crazylegs

Advanced Member
Reggie91 said:
You might be alright depending on the thread left if you‘re worried about ruining them.

My advise is keep checking the tyre pressures each time you bring the car back to the pits. You‘ll find you mind have to left some air out when they get hot.
They're a pretty much as new tyre so I'm hoping they'll see out the day and beyond.

Regarding tyre pressure, is there a device one can buy to take with you such as a gauge and something to pump them back up with if required?

ste01

Advanced Member
There are plenty of guages available, really cheap too. Same with pumps, loads of 12v ones available cheaply

Reggie91

Advanced Member
If they‘re new they‘ll be fine. I‘ve done 3 track days on my ad08r‘s and done 2k road miles and they‘re fine. Still plenty left.

Yeah you can buy a gauge online for really cheap and there tends to be a pump in the garages (double check). I wouldn‘t bother getting a bulky pump from Halfords etc you‘ll have that to carry about all day.

One guy I did a track day with last year bought valve caps with pressure sensors. You download an app and it tells you the tyre pressures.

carl hammond

Advanced Member