What exhaust is best?

Rob-199

I'm new to the Honda scene and have got a standard dc5 type R, what exhaust is best to go for?

I would like to go for the mugen cat back but it is crazy price new!

I don't want anything stupid loud, just a nice sound.

What would you recommend?

p1tse

Advanced Member
There's a used mugen for sale with unsilenced b pipe for sale in the classifieds

Rom

Advanced Member
Ha, there is no best.
All have pros and cons, it's a compromise game.
There are a few main common ones though.

Avoid anything buddyclub or j's racing, they make great power but are savage loud.
Twin loop was too quiet for me.

dave7368

Advanced Member
Rom said:
Avoid anything buddyclub or j's racing, they make great power but are savage loud.
thats a big generalization, not all BC or J's are stupid loud...

Rom

Advanced Member
dave7368 said:
thats a big generalization, not all BC or J's are stupid loud...
All are louder than the Twin loop he wants aren't they? Which is one of the quietest systems I think.

MrRy

Advanced Member
Just fitted an RMA01 - sounds basically stock IMO - it replaced by Spoon b-pipe and OEM backbox. Does feel more pokey though. Claims the following:

Maximum output
- OEM: 141.4kw(192.3ps)/7580rpm
- Fujitsubo: 144.5kw(196.5ps)/7710rpm

Maximum Torque
- OEM: 186.2N・m(19.0kg・m)/6790rpm
- Fujitsubo: 189.1N・m(19.3kg・m)/6600rpm

p1tse

Advanced Member
MrRy said:
Just fitted an RMA01 - sounds basically stock IMO - it replaced by Spoon b-pipe and OEM backbox. Does feel more pokey though. Claims the following:

Maximum output
- OEM: 141.4kw(192.3ps)/7580rpm
- Fujitsubo: 144.5kw(196.5ps)/7710rpm

Maximum Torque
- OEM: 186.2N・m(19.0kg・m)/6790rpm
- Fujitsubo: 189.1N・m(19.3kg・m)/6600rpm
I went from oem to the rm01a

It's like subtle amplified stock noise
Bit more burble on start up and not loud at all in any rev range; but a nice subtle deeper tone to oem across whole rev range

RichA

Advanced Member