2nd gear grinding/rubbing noise

clearout

Hello there,

I'm new to the Integra scene having bought a DC5 earlier in the week. The drive is completely different to my old car but there is something in 2nd gear which I'm sure cannot be blamed on my bad driving :)

When running from a cold start 2nd gear is much harder to select than the other gears and rather clunks into gear. This happens when shifting up or down but mainly up. The other (and for me more worrying) is at low speeds I get a really odd rubbing/grinding noise from the front, happens when I turn left or running straight. I'm not too technical with cars so don't know where to start - apart from asking you guys so any advice you have would be much appreciated. The car is standard.

I don't know if it makes a difference but I only get it regularly when there is a passenger in the car - and they weight like 2 stone :)

mikegsi

Staff member
did you not notice this when you test drove the car?

im pretty sure there is a similar fault/problem with some ctr's, which involved a trip to dealership under the warrenty, have a look on the ctr forum and do a search fro 2nd gear problems, im sure youll find the thread

type-r-dunk

Advanced Member
Hi most K20's 6 spd have this prob. Get the G oil changed and dont worry about it, just take it easy or miss 2nd when cold.
Dunx

clearout

Thanks for the feedback. The grinding doesn't sound right but I am new to driving a DC5 so like dunx said it may just be a feature of them. I've checked the CTR forums and read about the 1/2 5/6 gear issue. If the problem gets any worse after the suggestions I have had today then I'll take it to be checked but hopefully it's just me getting used to the car.

TC

Suped

Advanced Member
get that and seems very normal. Just take it easy when the car is cold. One thing when booting it, try not to miss 3rd gear and shovel it into 1st acidentally.. almost lifted my clutch up doing that first couple of times..!!

type-r-dunk

Advanced Member