General help

Petrolhead

Hiya,

Another newbie here.

I've had my CTR for almost 2 years now, and last week was about an inch away selling and buying an older UK DC2 ITR. However having seen a local importing place near me selling DC5's for about £15k, I have decided to research into this instead!

Has anyone ever bought one from Langtree garage in Wigan? Does around £15k sound alright for one?

This would be my first import, so would it be ok for servicing? do i have to add octane booster when filling up?

Just some general info please?

Thanks,

Adam.

SJ_Skyline

Site Admin
First off, welcome aboard Adam :)

I have no experience of your importer but I would recommend that you get the car checked over by the AA - £60 now for a check can save you a big nightmare in the future!

£15K sounds about right for a 51 Plate with say 20K miles on the clock.

I run mine on 97RON SUL courtesy of Sainsburys with no problems. Some of the guys here run optimax and octane booster.

Like the CTR - be sure to religeously watch your engine oil!

Hope that helps a bit :)

Petrolhead

Thanks Rich.

Its little things advicewise like the AA check that are important to find out thanks!

Have there been any nasty incedents regarding any other used imports before (DC5's) that anyones heard of. I'm pretty confident of Honda engines, but as this is my first import am a bit sceptical.

Do they come with a History, or is that paper work that could be fiddled by anyone importing etc?

Thanks again,

Adam.

SJ_Skyline

Site Admin
Horror stories.... LOL :lol:

Yup, my engine blew after 2 months of ownership, £3K rebuild which kinda soured the whole thing for me. This was caused by oil starvation in the engine hence why I say check your oil religeously!!