Help needed

dazza

Advanced Member
I'm trying, but failing miserably at getting a video clip from a DVD onto my computer.
I tried uploading using Photobucket but it says the video file is the wrong type.

Really come up against a brick wall with this. HELP!!!!

By the way it's the clip of the Teg on Used Car Roadshow :D

jay dh

what format is the file on the dvd? and how did u transfer it to your computer?

its either that photobucket only allows a certain type so it would need converting, or when u took it off the dvd, it didnt go to plan...

edit, is it an offical dvd from a shop or is it a file that someone has stuck onto a dvd-r?

dazza

Advanced Member
The DVD is a DVD+R
I recorded it from Sky+, i can't even transfer it off the DVD using the DVD drive in the computer onto the hard drive.
I've never done anything like this before.

jay dh

ok, i dont know anything about sky+ format but i know it can be transferred to a computer. ill have a search and let u know if i find anything.

dazza

Advanced Member
jay dh said:
ok, i dont know anything about sky+ format but i know it can be transferred to a computer. ill have a search and let u know if i find anything.
xthumbup

jay dh

apparently the Sky+ uses a format called UDF v2.5, you'll need to install something on your computer that recognises this format.

i found the below bit from a website which gives more detail for XP but try the first link and you want 'Sonic UDF Reader' (not sure if free) at the bottom or the second link 'Adaptec UDF Reader Driver' but dont know if this supports the UDF v2.5. i can only suggest trying them. Nero is also mentioned below but no link is provided
Probably. I say probably because you don't state what OS you have on those
machines that can't read the CD-RW. The SKY box could be writing UDF v2.5,
which is not supported by Windows XP. XP natively supports only v1.5 and
v2.0 of UDF.

So that I don't have to come back and deal with this later, I'll assume you