importing DC5 myself

micchung

Advanced Member
hi guys,

a newbie here. i've just bought a DC5 and is about to be shipped to the UK, arrival in feb 2004.

has anyone organised getting a car themselves? if so what was involved and how difficult was it.?

just wondering about SVA conversions and SVA test
what does this involve to the car and costs?

converting the speedo from Kph to Mph - are the dials physically changed rather than using stickers?

and rear fog lamp is it true they have to cut into the bumper? :cry:

sorry for all the questions.

advice would be much appreciated!

mic

JOM

Advanced Member
Hi mic,

For information about the SVA test prob best to ring DVLA and fnid where you can get it done local to you.

Fog light, mine has just had one fitted below the rear bumper but I might move it.

Conversion between KPH and MPH think is done by fitting a chip in the dash somehow.

Hope this helps

James

MJ Type-R

Advanced member
Hi Mic

SVA centres tend to be located at Ports in the UK :!: :!:

For the SVA test you will need the following to be done:

Kmps to MPH on dials, often the K is just blanked over on the dials.
Speedo conversation, not sure how this is done.
Rear Fog Light
Fuel Neck restrictor

I think that’s all for the SVA, you are also advised to get the car under sealed, as they do not do this on Japanese cars :!:

Mike

Erm

Advanced Member
if ya got MSN add me and i'll talk u thru everything u need to know

did the importing thing myself

MJ Type-R

Advanced member
micchung said:
why are the HIDs a pain?
Forgot this point :!:

HID are not allowed in SVA tests, they have to be removed or the car will fail the test :cry:

All importers, do this and then after the test refit them 8) they are so much better :lol: so should be refitted, totally legal :p

Mike

izerosll