O2/Cat converter help please.

DallasJones

Hi guys,

I'm new here but I'd really like some help with my DC5R. I bought this car in January and it had all sorts of problems. Thankfully I've got them all sorted except one - the exhaust system. This is my first tuner and I'm still learning quite a bit.

When I bought it, the exhaust tip wasn't even attached. So I got a sports exhaust put on.

My check engine light is on, which gives 3 error codes all related to oxygen sensors. From what I can tell the last owner ripped out the cat converter, unplugged both oxygen sensors and had a dodgy welding job done. I've kind of ran out of money now (I'm on trainee wages so saving is quite difficult) and was wondering if I could get some advice on what I should do. I'm not sure where the front sensor plugs into or where to get a plug. I've figured out the back sensor is meant to plug into the cat.

Has anyone got any advice for me? What are my options? I think my cheapest option to make this legal would be to acquire the o2 sensor plugs and solder them in, plug the front one in to wherever it goes, purchase a high flow cat converter online (A recommendation would be nice) and get my local exhaust guys to repair it.

Normally I would go straight to them and get it all sorted properly but they quoted $1000 which I simply don't have. I'm also paying $80 dollars a week in fuel at the moment driving to work so it'd be great if I could sort this out soon for a better fuel economy.

As I'm new to the site and I'm already after help, I'll contribute by making a few guides on projects I've done. It's all I can really offer. But others might find them useful.

Here are some photos:

The current dodgy setup. http://i.imgur.com/Yqxuz.jpg
The fault codes. http://i.imgur.com/hwc6m.png

C&S Evo7

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Dallas,
ok some questions-
- what exhaust headers are fitted?
- what decat pipe is fitted?