Thinking about going SC

User

Advanced Member
I've been mulling over what to do next for a few months, nosing around club rsx and K20.org etc trying to do some research for myself because people in the know here seem to act like government agent secret squirrels.

Thought about cams but not overly sure about them: -

Driving style will tend towards ragging the nuts out of the engine
Noise at idle
Heavy labour costs
Harsh on the valvetrain
High rpm driving possibly outside of the OE oil system capability

So, seriously thinking about going SC'd, with a low pressure system - 5 psi.

I reckon 5 psi should be ok. There's little point in going over 8250 rpm with the SC from what I've read - which is a good thing. If the SC power delivery is such that you really dont need to go beyond 8250rpm (or even 8500rpm on occasions) that in itself is solving a lot of problems - Problems with wear and problems with oil circulation primarily.

I'm sure 6 psi would be ok on stock internals - but there's always a trade off - that extra boost is going to cost something. 5 psi should, hopefully - give a nice balance between performance and the engine not grenading itself.

The only downside really is that boosted cars create more torque. And it's torque (rather than power) that kills gearboxes, clutches and causes wheelspin. Again, I'm hoping 5 psi is not going to be a threat to the OE clutch, box or create stupid amounts of wheelspin. Although clearly I may have to look into softer compound tyres if 2nd gear blows more smoke than a 16 year old with a poorly wrapped joint.

So, I've got some questions to try make my mind up: -

In the US there's race and street versions of the JRSC. Will the street (5 psi) version fit the DC5?

The JRSC sold by tuners over here - which version is that exactly?

The JRSC seems a lot cheaper in the US - anyone imported one? What's involved?