Vista

clearout

Hey people,

As a person running an IT business I am about to start testing the new Vista OS to make sure I can recommend to clients whether they should move or stay with XP etc etc. Just thought I'd ask if anyone wanted anything specific tested / checked before they pick up Vista.

I may as well try and give some knowledge to those who I have taken so much from :)

andyd

Advanced Member
Personally, i really wouldn't use this for business use at the mo. Not till that have fixed a number of issuses with it.

There are just still far to many problems with it, drives not working etc....

If your going to be using wirless, its a bit hit and miss. Again there is lack of support for drivers.

I have a MS technet subscribtion and also am a VLA subscriber, so i've been testing it for quite a while though.

In my honest option its not as good as XP at the mo, it just looks really nice.

Office 2007 on the hand 8) Top thumbs up for that. Very impressive and designed very well.

Andy

clearout

That is my thoughts at the moment also. I cannot imagine recommending it over XP for businesses. The training on it's on is too much for most

Office looks lovely. I can't imagine how they can improve on office much more from this point

Your technet subscription did you see the new download only version they have. Bought time too!

jimmy_atr

Advanced Member
Im in charge of Vista deployment in my work.

Been researching it for a while and only recently looked in-depth into the final release version.

Driver issues are very much evident especially with recent motherboards - with some older laptops still having problems.

Software wise, so far we have had issues with NAV Corporate Edition, Power DVD and also Microsoft firewall client. Some fixes about but its a bit hit and miss at the moment.

Also intend once i have finalised images for Vista to run some training sessions as its quite a big difference from XP and i know users will struggle otherwise.

clearout